Every Day in the Word

Posted: June 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags:

It’s important to spend time every day reading God’s Word. It doesn’t matter how you

Bible

organize your life to do it, just that you make it a priority in your life. I’ve read through the Bible every year over the last few years and have been very blessed by God’s Word. In the past I have read the Bible straight through and chronologically. This year, I decided to read part of the Old Testament, part of the New Testament, a Psalm and a Proverb every day. I use the ESV Bible reading plan through an RSS Reader.

What’s interesting is how often these four different parts of the Bible agree and seem to work together so well. Generally the reading is from four different genres during very different time periods written by four different authors. However, it’s clear that the Bible is all inspired by God and has a consistent theme throughout. A case in point is the reading from today. The Old Testament part was 1 Kings 7, Solomon builds his palace and then Solomon built the temple of the Lord. I’ll be honest, it was getting a little long and I thought “why is this included in the Bible?” Don’t get me wrong, this sounds like an amazing house and an amazing temple for the presence of God to dwell. But, seriously, how would a person preach from this text? Is there anything of value here? And then I read the New Testament reading from Acts 7, Steven’s speech to the Jewish religious leaders in which he recounted the history of God dealing with his people. And in verse 47 this jumped out at me: “But it was Solomon who built a house for him. Yet the Most High does not dwell in houses made by hands, as the prophet says,

“‘Heaven is my throne,
and the earth is my footstool.
What kind of house will you build for me, says the Lord,
or what is the place of my rest?”

Israel, and her leaders, were trying to confine God to a temple. It was a magnificent place. But God was no longer going to confine his presence to a building. The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us (John 1:14)! This is so amazing that many people cannot grasp it. I am thankful for Jesus and now through belief in Him we have the promised Holy Spirit (Ephesians 1:13).

Psalm 128:1 Blessed is everyone who fears the Lord, who walks in his ways!

Leave a Reply

